Holders China learn group-stage opponents for 2017 FIBA Asia Cup

Source: Logo

Defending champions China have been drawn against Iraq, 2015 runners-up The Philippines and Qatar in Group B for this year’s International Basketball Federation (FIBA) Asia Cup.

The event, which is scheduled to take place in Lebanon from August 8 to 20, will be the first-ever Asia-Oceania joint continental Championship with 16 teams, including Australia and New Zealand, battling it out for top honours.

The official draw ceremony was held at Le Royal Hotel Dbayeh in Lebanon’s capital Beirut.

It also saw the 2015 bronze medallists Iran pitted against Jordan, Syria and India in Group A and hosts Lebanon put into Group C alongside Kazakhstan, South Korea and New Zealand.

Completing the line-up are the Group D quartet of Japan, Hong Kong, Chinese Taipei and Australia.

The top three three teams from each group will then advance to the second phase where they will be divided into two groups; E and F.

The tournament will be played in a knockout format from the quarter-finals onwards.